2015: Cross River PDP Re-Open Code of Conduct For Members, Inaugurate Disciplinary Committee

In Breaking News, National News, Politics, Reports

by crossriverwatch admin

Ntufam John Okon, Chairman PDP, Cross River State
Ntufam John Okon, Chairman PDP, Cross River State

The fear of members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)in Cross River state decamping to opposition party has made the party executive to re-introduce its code of conduct with a disciplinary committee in place.

The Code of conduct was reintroduced Wednesday when the party disciplinary committee was inaugurated at the Party secretariat along Muritala Muhammed highway Calabar.

State Chairman of the party, Ntufam John Okon while inaugurating the seven member disciplinary committee, stressed the need for all members to abide by the Party’s Constitution.

He said the exercise became necessary for the party to have a focus and be disciplined in all its dealing and constitutional responsibilities.

“Since the party constitution has discipline as its focal point, it becomes imperative for us at the state level to set up a disciplinary committee” he said.

The Chairman pointed out that the committee members are men and women of proven integrity, who will not disappoint the party, while hoping for a stronger, better and formidable party success come 2015 and beyond.

CrossRiverWatch findings however revealed that, most of the members of the committee are former political office holders of the party who have been allegedly sidelined and are considering moving to the new opposition party (APC) alongside their supporters and the disciplinary committee portfolio may only be a ploy to placate them.

The State Chairman pointed out to the committee that PDP is one big family and as such, all issues should be handled in a family way, insisting that for a party to win any election, it must always work together.

Elder Okon pledged the total cooperation of the State Executive Committee saying henceforth ‘ all relevant cases on discipline and misconduct will be referred to the disciplinary committee.

The Chairman called on the members of the committee to rise to the challenge, stressing that their assignment would not be easy.

The seven member Disciplinary Committee is headed by the immediate past chairman of Akpabuyo Local Government, Barr. (Mrs.) Josephine Effiom, while Elder Tony Ebri will serve as Secretary.

Other members of the committee are, Mr. Micheal Mon, Hon. (Alhaji) Mikhail Asuquo, Hon. Isaac Igiri, Prof. Florence Obi and Barth Izato.

follow us on twitter @crossriverwatch

Since You Are Here, Support Good Journalism

CrossRiverWatch was founded on the ideals of deploying tech tools to report in an ethical manner, news, views and analysis with a narrative that ensures transparency in governance, a good society and an accountable democracy.

Everyone appreciates good journalism but it costs a lot of money. Nonetheless, it cannot be sacrificed on the altar of news commercialisation.

Consider making a modest contribution to support CrossRiverWatch's journalism of credibility and integrity in order to ensure that all have continuous free access to our noble endeavor.


New Feature: Don't miss any of our news again.Get all our articles in your facebook chat box.Click the Facebook Messenger Icon below to subscribe now

Text Advert by CRWatch :Place Yours

Will You To Learn How To Make Millions Of Naira Making Special Creams From Your Kitchen?.Click Here

Expose Your Business And Make More Sales. Advertise On CrossRiverWatch.com Today

You may also read!

Cross River, Ekiti, Akwa Ibom, Ondo, Abia And Osun To Benefit From USDA $22 Million Cocoa Value Chain Support

By Ogar Monday Cross River, Ekiti, Akwa Ibom, Ondo, Abia, and Osun States are set to benefit from the


Sunday Musings: Social Media And The Resurgence Of African Spirituality…BY AGBA JALINGO

With the advent of social media, marginalized and vulnerable groups all over the world found a major and veritable


Never Be Afraid Of Asking Questions… BY AGBA JALINGO 

Freedom House, America’s oldest think thank, devoted to the support and defense of democracy around the world, was formally


Leave a reply:

Your email address will not be published.

Mobile Sliding Menu

Share this now