2016 Budget: Cross River Assembly Inaugurates 5 Committees to Evaluate 1st Quarter Performance

In Breaking News, National News, Politics, Reports

By Ogar Monday, House of Assembly Correspondent


The Cross River State House of Assembly has inaugurated five ad hoc Committees to appraise the 1st quarter performance of the 2016 approved budget of the State.

The Committees are to confirm all revenue targets as provided for in the 2016 Appropriation Bill, assess actual monthly performance for the month of January, February and March 2016.

In addition, the Committees are to appraise the strengths, weaknesses and challenges of the MDA’s revenue procedures, and adopt strategies that are likely to increase or double MDA’s revenue performance in the second quarter.

The Committee members and their MDAs are as follows:

Committee A

Hon. Regina Anyogo Chairman, Hon. Efa Esua, Hon. Osim Frederick Okpa and Christian Achor Agbor as members.

Their MDAs include: Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Justice, Ministry of Agriculture, Agriculture Development Program, Pineapple Project, Forestry Commission, SA Governor’s Office, Bureau of Statistics, Micro-Finance and Enterprise Development Agency, Mortgage Finance Department, Bureau for Public Private Partnership, Investment Promotion Department, Privatization Council, Signage and Advertisement Agency, Due Process and Price Intelligence Bureau, Ministry of lands, Geographic Information Agency and Office of the Surveyor General.

Committee B

Hon. Nelson Ofem Chairman, Hon. Elizabeth Ironbar and Hon. Matthew Olory as members.

Their MDAs include: Ministry of Solid Mineral Development, Department of Mineral Resources, Ministry of Gas Development, ServiCom Office, Project Programs, Monitoring, Evaluation Unit, Cross River State Judiciary, Ministry of Justice, and Civil Service Commission.

Committee C

Hilary Bisong Chairman and Hon. Bassey Akiba, Hon. Peter Odey as members.

Their MDAs include: Ministry of Transport and Marine Service, Calabar Transport Regulatory Agency, Department of Public Transportation, Water Front Infrastructural Development Agency, Wharf Landing, Scrap Metal Regulatory Agency, Cross River State Port Side Authority, Cross River State Inland Water Ways Authority, Cross River University of Technology, Cross River State College of Education Awi/Akamkpa , Cross River State College of Health Technology, IMT Ugep, POWER, State Electrification Agency.

Committee D

Hon. Ajor Agaji Chairman and Hon. Friday Okpechi, Hon. Charles Ekpe, Hon. Itam Abang as members.

Their MDAs include: Culture and Tourism, Cross River State Tourism Bureau, Cross River State Tourism Development, Cross River State Carnival Commission, Department of Culture and Heritage, Department of Labor and Productivity, Water Board, RUWATSA, Ministry of Water Resources, Calabar Urban Development Authority, Ikom Urban Development Authority, Obudu Urban Development Authority, Ugep Urban Development Authority.

Committee E

Hon. Ekpo Bassey Chairman and Hon. Ogbor Ogbor, Hon. Elucate Okora Ekom as members.

Their MDAs include: Ministry of Information and Orientation, Information and Communication Technology Department, Cross River Broadcasting Corporation, Cross River Broadcasting Corporation Ikom, Cross River State Newspaper Corporation, Ministry of Communication Technology, ICT Department, Ministry of Youth Development and S ports, Cross River State Sports Commission, Ministry of Environment, Water Management Agency.

According to the report made available to our Assembly Correspondent, all the above Committees are to report daily to a Central Committee with Hon. Eteng Williams and four others as members.

Also according to the House rules all Principal Officers are ex-officio members of all committees.

You may also read!

Sheath Your Sword And ‘Jettison Any Further Appeals’ – Governor Otu Tells Sandy, As Court Affirms Him 

By Sylvia Akpan, Government House Correspondent Following the Election Petition Tribunal affirming the victory of Governor Bassey Otu, he


Former Cross River Commissioner For Health, 12 Others Bags National Appointment 

By Able Winnard And Gladys Omirigbe Former Commissioner for Health in Cross River State, Doctor Janet Ekpenyong and twelve


Calabar: Clergyman Blames Strange Incidents On ‘Evil Infrastructure’

By Sylvia Akpan The Senior Pastor of Bible Christian Crusader Mission (BCCM), Pastor Joseph Okoro has blamed happenings in


Leave a reply:

Your email address will not be published.

Mobile Sliding Menu

Share this now