#CRSLGDECIDES: Despite Not Voting, Ayade’s PDP Sweeps Council Polls In Cross River

In Breaking News, National News, Politics, Reports

By Jonathan Ugbal

The Cross River State Independent Electoral Commission has declared the results for the remaining eight local government areas in the just concluded local council elections.

Governor Ben Ayade whose party, the People’s Democratic Party won the polls held amidst the COVID-19 scare, did not vote on Saturday.

CrossRiverWatch had reported that the commission’s chairman, Mike Ushie had declared results for 10 local government areas on Sunday afternoon with the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) having a field day.

And, following the arrival of the remaining eight local government areas, it is clear the PDP swept the 196 political wards and 18 Chairmanship positions.

Below are the results declared on Sunday.

The results announced on Sunday afternoon are:

1. Akamkpa local government area. The People’s Democratic Party’s(PDP) Linus Bassey Etim was the only contestant and emerged winner with 50,422 votes. The party also won all councilorship seats.

2. Akpabuyo local government area. PDP’s Emmanuel Offiong Bassey emerged winner with 34,618 votes after beating his only rival of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who polled 2,005 votes. The PDP also won all the councilorship positions.

3. Bakassi local government area. Iyadim Amboni of the PDP won with 7,674 votes with the APC polling 280 votes while, Labour Party (LP), Young Progressive Party (YPP) and New Nigerian People’s Party (NNPP) scored 75, 49 and 31 voted respectively. Dr. Raphael Offiong was the returning officer.

4. Calabar Municipal local government area. Eke Effiong Nta of the PDP scored 31,183 votes to beat his rivals, Eleng Maurice Bassey and Bassey Okon Bassey who polled 315 and 1,545 votes respectively. The PDP swept the councilorship positions too.

5. Calabar South local government area. Esther Edet Bassey of the PDP emerged winner with 49,347 votes. The party also won all councilorship positions.

6. Etung local government area. PDP’s Etuk John Nkong of the PDP polled 36,694 to beat his APC rival who scored 413 votes. His party also won councilorship positions in all 10 wards.

7. Ikom local government area.Egumi Kingsley Nangbe of the PDP won with 48,169 votes. His party won all councilorship seats too.

8. Obubra local government area. Bassey Agara Tom of the PDP polled 75,082 votes to win the APC’s candidate who polled 315 votes. The PDP swept all councilorship positions.

9. Odukpani local government area. Justin Joseph Edim of the PDP was returned unopposed having polled 33,208 votes. The PDP also won all councilorship seats.

10. Yakurr local government area. PDP’s Obeten Ofem Ebri of the PDP polled 70,399 votes to emerge winner. The APC polled 833 votes. The PDP also won all councilorship positions.

The results announced on Sunday evening are:

11. Abi local government area: The PDP’s Reaman Farato Robinson polled 38,222 votes to beat the APC’s candidate who scored 561 votes while the YPP candidate garnered 2 votes. The PDP won all 11 councilorship seats.

12. Bekwarra local government area: Emeka Josephat Owan of the PDP was returned unopposed having polled 34,163 votes. His party also won all 10 councilorship seats.

13. Boki local government area: The PDP’s John Echang Ewa was also returned unopposed. He garnered 59,767 votes. The PDP also won all councilorship seats.

14. Biase local government area: Only the PDP’s Ada Charles Egwu contested and returned unopposed scoring 60,269 votes. Her party swept the legislative seats too.

15. Obanliku local government area: While the APC garnered about 10 percent of votes cast – 3,236, it was the PDP’s Inde Margaret Uyeliwoma that emerged winner with 27,174. The PDP also won all 10 legislative seats.

16. Obudu local government area: Despite not voting, Governor Ben Ayade’s party, the PDP polled 69,079 votes for Ehwe Bonniface Eraye to return elected. The party won the 10 legislative seats too.

17. Ogoja local government area: Ishabor Emmanuel of the PDP was declared winner of the Chairmanship seat with 39,565 votes. The PDP also won all councilorship seats.

18. Yala local government area: The APC’s 2,120 votes were not enough to upturn the 74,985 votes polled by Ogbeche Friday Odey of the PDP whose party also won all legislative seats.

Since You Are Here, Support Good Journalism

CrossRiverWatch was founded on the ideals of deploying tech tools to report in an ethical manner, news, views and analysis with a narrative that ensures transparency in governance, a good society and an accountable democracy.

Everyone appreciates good journalism but it costs a lot of money. Nonetheless, it cannot be sacrificed on the altar of news commercialisation.

Consider making a modest contribution to support CrossRiverWatch's journalism of credibility and integrity in order to ensure that all have continuous free access to our noble endeavor.


New Feature: Don't miss any of our news again.Get all our articles in your facebook chat box.Click the Facebook Messenger Icon below to subscribe now

Text Advert by CRWatch :Place Yours

Will You To Learn How To Make Millions Of Naira Making Special Creams From Your Kitchen?.Click Here

Expose Your Business And Make More Sales. Advertise On CrossRiverWatch.com Today

You may also read!

Teacher Essien Ita Educational Foundation Sponsors 20 To Calabar Coding Class 2021

By Maxwell Effiong The Calabar Coding Class 2021 will open tomorrow, Friday April 23, 2021 with 20 students expected


CALABAR: Civic Space Actors Halt Rights Violation In Politically Motivated Case

… Reclaim The Civic Space Team Hails Cross River CP For Stopping Abuse Of Office By Archibong Jeremiah and Jonathan


#EndPoliceBrutality: Cross River Panel To Sit Today After 50 Days Recess

By Patrick Obia and Rachel Idim The Cross River State Judicial Panel of Inquiry into Police Brutality and Restitutions,


One commentOn #CRSLGDECIDES: Despite Not Voting, Ayade’s PDP Sweeps Council Polls In Cross River

  • Despite the empty and scanty field, some polls still record up to such numbers.
    The same people who kill
    SUG, NACRISS, NANS are up there to lay to rest the state electorial prosses…

Leave a reply:

Your email address will not be published.

Mobile Sliding Menu

Share this now